Sign In

- Or use -
Forgot Password Create Account

Map of the Duchy of Brabant, published in Paris, circa 1700.

A finely detailed map illustrating the Duchy of Brabant divided into principal districts including Louvain, Brusselles, Anvers, and Bosleduc.  Main cities and towns are highlighted in red including Mechelen, Leuven, Halen, Tienen, Hasselt, Bilsen, Nivelles, Landen, Enghien, Braine-l'Alleud, Roux, Hannut, Mons, etc.  Topographical features are also shown throughout the region, including mountain ranges, forests, and lakes.  A beautifully engraved title cartouche is illustrated at the bottom right of the map.

The map includes a separate sheet with an alphabetical table of towns and villages within the Duchy of Brabant.

Pierre Mortier Biography

Pierre, or Pieter, Mortier (1661-1711) was a Dutch engraver, son of a French refugee. He was born in Leiden. In 1690 he was granted a privilege to publish French maps in Dutch lands. In 1693 he released the first and accompanying volume of the Neptune Francois. The third followed in 1700. His son, Cornelis (1699-1783), would partner with Johannes Covens I, creating one of the most important map publishing companies of the eighteenth century.