Sign In

- Or use -
Forgot Password Create Account

Detailed map of South America, colored by the newly formed independent nations of South America.

The map identifies the newly independent nations (Peru, Bolivar, Columbia, La Plata, Chile, Paraguay) and the French, English and Dutch Colonies.  Curiously, Brazil, which had recently been the seat of the Portuguese thrown until 1821, is not noted.

Bolivar (Bolivia) is shown in a generally accurate location, but includes some coastal regions west of the Andes, which it would lose in the future to Chile in 1879.