Sign In

- Or use -
Forgot Password Create Account

With 6 Newly Formed American Territories

Scarce map of the United States shortly after the Louisiana Purchase.

This map follows an 1814 edition, which was the first to add Florida below the original neatline, which has been pasted on as a recent update.

The present 1817 edition is the first to add Michigan Territory, Ohio, Northwest Territory, Illinois Territory, Indiana Territory and Mississippi Territory.

The difference between this map and the 1806 map are indeed noteworthy. West of the Mississippi and especially in the Plains, the map has been greatly updated along the Kansas River and in the western Great Lakes region. Chicago is shown on Lake Michigan. The Spanish New Orleans is shown as are demarcations for the other Spanish territories west of the Mississippi in the newly acquired Louisiana Territory. Substantial additions along the Arkansas River are also shown. Neither the Kansas or the Arkansas appeared on the 1806 edition.

Much greater attention to Indian Details in the west.  

Incorporates early discoveries in the Mississippi and Missouri Valleys shortly after the Louisiana Purchase.

An outstanding map for mid-continent collectors.