Sign In

- Or use -
Forgot Password Create Account

Coca Cola Sponsors The Tour de France

A map showing the route of the 1965 Tour de France, sponsored by Coca Cola.

The 1965 Tour de France was the 52nd edition of the Tour, June 22 - July 14, 1965, with 22 stages covering a distance of 4,188 km (2,602 mi).  The Tour began in Cologne, Germany, the first time the tour began in Germany and only its third start outside of France.

In his first year as a professional, Felice Gimondi, a substitute replacement on the Salvarani team, captured the overall title ahead of Raymond Poulidor, last year's second-place finisher.

Gimondi became one of only seven riders, the others being Alberto Contador, Vincenzo Nibali, Chris Froome and five-time Tour winners Jacques Anquetil, Eddy Merckx and Bernard Hinault to have won all three of the major Tours. Besides Gimondi's first tour and win, this was the first time the start ramp was used in time trials.

Jan Janssen, who won the points classification the previous year successfully defended his title; he won another points title in 1967 and the overall title at the 1968 Tour de France.

Julio Jiménez won two stages and his first of three consecutive mountains classification. Jiminez also won the mountains classification at the 1965 Vuelta a España – becoming one of (now) four riders to complete the Tour/Vuelta double by winning both races' mountains competitions in the same year.