Manuscript View of Mining District By California Inventor David Bice James.
Highly detailed rendering of the area around the White River, Mining District, drawn by David B. James, who would then have been serving as Mining Superintendent.
James story (told below) is a fascinating story of an early Californian, who while never famous, certainly led a colorful and interesting frontier life.
The map shows the location of 5 mines, tunnels, a well site, water ditch, mill site, Water table level, the road to the store and post office, etc.
White River Mining District
White River Mining District is in southern Tulare County and northern Kern County approximately 25 miles southeast of Porterville. Gold was discovered first discovered in White River in 1853. It was founded as a gold camp in 1856, during the Kern River Gold Rush. It was first located on the Coarse Gold Gulch two miles west of the present site and was called DogtownThe town was originally known as Tailholt, but the name was changed to White River in 1870. Mining continued until around 1906.