Sign In

- Or use -
Forgot Password Create Account
This item has been sold, but you can enter your email address to be notified if another example becomes available.

Map of the Seventeen Provinces of the Low Countries (Netherlands, Belgium, and Luxembourg), published in Paris, circa 1700. Includes two additional sheets with an alphabetical index of town names and villages and a Table of the Seventeen Provinces of the Low Countries.

The map details the Low Countries, divided into seventeen provinces, including the Duchies of Brabant, Limburg, Luxembourg, the Counties of Flanders, Artois, Hainaut, Namur, Holland, Zeeland, Utrecht, Over-Issel, Groningen, West Friesland, etc.  At the time, these provinces were shared between the Royals of France, Spain, and the Estates General of the United Provinces.

The map includes a decorative title cartouche and scale of distance.

Alexis-Hubert Jaillot Biography

Alexis-Hubert Jaillot (ca. 1632-1712) was one of the most important French cartographers of the seventeenth century. Jaillot traveled to Paris with his brother, Simon, in 1657, hoping to take advantage of Louis XIV's call to the artists and scientists of France to settle and work in Paris. Originally a sculptor, he married the daughter of Nicholas Berey, Jeanne Berey, in 1664, and went into partnership with Nicholas Sanson's sons. Beginning in 1669, he re-engraved and often enlarged many of Sanson's maps, filling in the gap left by the destruction of the Blaeu's printing establishment in 1672.