Ile Aux Marins
Manuscript map showing 20 named fishing concessions on Ile Aux Marins, St. Pierre et Miquelon, near Newfoundland.
The map illustrates the island which was then called "Ile aux Chiens", an islet and fishing village at the harbor entrance of the French island of St. Pierre, near Newfoundland.
The map specifically names the holders of 20 proprietors, most of which are well documented "Ancient Family Names" for St. Pierre and Miquelon.
The map was likley prepared shortly after the signing of the Peace Treaty in 1783, wherein the rights of the French with respect to St. Pierre et Miquelon was finalized, along with fishing rights on the coast of Newfoundland.
L'Île-aux-Marins (literally "The Island of the Sailors"; before 1931 called Île-aux-Chiens) is a small island in the Atlantic Ocean. It is located off the coast of Saint-Pierre and Miquelon and was a commune until 1945, when it was annexed by the commune of Saint-Pierre.
It was settled in 1604 and once had a population approaching 700. It has had no permanent population since 1965 when the last families left for Saint Pierre Island, although a small number of people live there on a seasonal basis from May to November. It is also a ghost town: several unique buildings still stand, such as the Church, the Jézéquel house, the cemetery, a number of fisherman's homes, and the Archipélitude Museum located in the town's only school. The bow section of the wrecked ship Transpacific is on the northern side of the island and is accessible.