Sign In

- Or use -
Forgot Password Create Account

Republic of Texas Map Showing "Judicial Counties"

Striking map of the Republic of Texas, from the final year of HS Tanner's Universal Atlas.

While a number of counties are shown in the east, the Western part of the Republic is still dominated by Bexar, Milam, and Robertson County, with a massive San Patricio County in the south.

Fort Alamo is shown, along with a few dozen other place names. About 15 early roads are shown.

The map includes a large inset map of Texas north of the Red River.  

Judicial Counties

The present map is quite curious, as it includes a number of counties that ceased to exist in 1842.

The map is dated 1845 and retains the border characteristic of Tanner's last atlases, but includes a number "Judicial Counties." Judicial counties had many of the same legal characteristics of "Constitutional Counties" (i.e., counties formed under the Texas Constitution), but lacked representation at the  including Burleson, Burnet, DeWitt, Guadalupe, Hamilton, La Baca, Madison, Menard, Neches, Panola, Paschal, Smith, Spring Creek, Trinity, Ward, and Waco.  These counties were established for judicial and other purposes on January 1841, and abolished by a Texas Supreme Court decision, Stockton v. Montgomery (1842), which declared all judicial counties unconstitutional.

Condition Description
Bottom edge somewhat toned.