Sign In

Forgot Password Create Account

Striking view of the siege of Gibraltar, from Heiden's Americanische urquelle derer innerlichen kriege des bedrängten Teutschlands. . .

The Siege of Gibraltar of 1727 (13th siege of Gibraltar, 2nd by Spain) involved the Spanish attack of the British garrison of Gibraltar as part of the Anglo-Spanish War. Depending on the sources, Spanish troops were between 12,000 and 25,000. British defenders were 1,500 at the beginning of the siege, increasing up to about 5,000.

After a five-month siege with several unsuccessful attempts, Spanish troops gave up and retired. Following the failure the war drew to a close, opening the way for the 1728 Treaty of El Pardo and the Treaty of Seville signed in 1729.